"From the Karen National Political Dialogue to ward the Political Will of the Karen National"  

  "From the Karen National Political Dialogue to establish a Federal Democratic Union"  

  • English
  • Karen
  • Myanmar

Peace Process

Joint Ceasefire Monitoring Committee - JMC

The Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement (NCA) signed on 15th October 2015 by the Union of Myanmar Government and 8 Ethnic Armed Organisations created two major joint bodies: the Joint Ceasefire Monitoring Committee (JMC) and the Union Peace Dialogue Joint Committee (UPDJC). The JMC includes union, state and local levels to implement ceasefire monitoring at different levels.

The JMC-U was formed on 18 November 2015 with 10 representatives from government, 10 from the eight signatory ethnic armed organisations and six civilians.

JMC-U, in order to implement its function, will establish Technical Secretariat Center (TSC). TSC shall be a technical body to advise and support the JMC to oversee, coordinate and integrate the implementation of the Nationwide Ceasefire Agreement of 15th October 2015, Military Code of Conduct of 18th November 2015 and Terms of Reference of the Joint Monitoring Committee of 18th November 2015, herein after referred as ‘THE JMC RELATED AGREEMENTS’.